Interview with Lawsonhaley

il_570xN.561483041_4z6v

What is your name?:

Haley Alannah

What is your nameberry username and what is the inspiration for it?

Lawsonhaley – I was inspired by a band that I liked at the time, the members had Twitter accounts where the usernames were @LawsonAdam/Andy/Joel/Ryan, so I thought that would look nice if my own name was used, apparently!

Have you ever wished you had a different name?
Yes, definitely! I remember until about a year ago, I’d always hated my first name, as it has so many different legitimately popular spellings, it seems as though every person guesses a different way when they attempt it! My middle name also gets horribly mispronounced a lot as well, but that’s something I’ve gotten used to. I believe for the longest time, I wanted to change my name to Claire or Clarissa, or at least to Hayleigh/Hayley.

How old were you when you first got interested in names and how did this interest begin?
Hmm, probably around 8 years old? That’s the earliest I can remember doing it, anyways! I had just received a baby doll for my birthday, and I wanted her to have THE perfect name, so I actually went on to a baby name site (I believe it was the one incorporated with Disney at the time), and looked at names until I found the perfect one – Annabelle. I later did it again with another doll, named Vanessa.

Where do you get most of your name inspiration from?

I find that a large number of my names are very English-inspired, so I guess perhaps the UK top 1000 is a large source for me. I also adore anything old fashioned and vintage, so some TV programmes, such as Downton Abbey, books and films have provided for inspiration, as well as the many cemeteries in my area, dating back as far as the 1820s, I believe.

What do you think will be the name trends of the future?

I definitely expect to see more vintage choices pulling ahead, such as Alice, Eleanor, Harriet, Matilda, Phoebe, Elsie, Millie, Iris, Olive, Pearl, etc for girls, and more surnames for boys, such as Bennett, Benedict, Harrison, Rafferty, Addison, Ellison, Hadley and Emerson.

Do you have any pet naming peeves?

I’m not overly fussed about what others name their children, because I know many would dislike the names I would personally choose, however, I absolutely loathe misspelled names that were spelled differently in an attempt to be ‘creative’. Lynkin is not a creative way to spell Lincoln, it just makes it appear as though you cannot spell, to me.

What are some of your favourite names?

Of my favourites, my top 5 for boys and girls are:

Girls: Florence, Minnie, Elsie, Martha & Evelyn

Boys: Ernest, Charlie, Henry/Harry, Matthew & George

What names do you dislike?

Not very many! I think maybe Thisbe and Jace would be my two biggest.

What are your favourite names in the Top 100 of your country?
Florence and Matthew.

What are your favourite names that have never charted in your country?

As Canadian charts are a bit muddled, I’m hoping I’m correct in guessing that Lavinia and Taron have never charted here before.

Do you have names picked out for your future children?

Yes, definitely. I think my main one that I’m adamant on is Florence, I’ve pretty well decided that my first born daughter will be called Florence.

What advice would you give to someone who was choosing a name for their baby?

Try to bear in mind that, yes, you’re choosing a name that you love, but, your darling little Petal Blossom Rainbow may not like the super sugary, unbalanced name you’ve given her. She however, would likely thank you kindly for a name that balanced sugar and seriousness, such as Elizabeth Petal or Blossom Felicity. While you should of course choose a name that you love, you should try to choose something that is wearable as well.

Leave a Reply

