Interview with Adelina_Sophia

https://www.etsy.com/au/listing/153191229/on-sale-mermaid-costume-newborn-baby?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=newborn%20baby&ref=sr_gallery_16
Photo from etsy.com

What is your name?
Alice

What is your nameberry username and what is the inspiration for it?
My username on Nameberry is @adelina_sophia. It’s not very imaginative as it’s just my favourite girls combination.

Have you ever wished you had a different name?
Yes, when I was younger I used to wish that I was a Mary. Now I still feel that Alice doesn’t suit me, and would prefer to be a Rosamund Victoria.

How old were you when you first got interested in names and how did this interest begin?
Around the age of 13-14. I first became interested when I was looking for alternatives to Elizabeth, though my interest became bigger when I was doing some research on Spanish names.

Where do you get most of your name inspiration from?
Mostly online, though also from family.

What do you think will be the name trends of the future?
I think the trend of names from popular culture will continue to happen but I also think a wider range of Biblical names will start to become in trend. I think we may also start to see more children with unusual names (which maybe won’t become so unusual) since people now are starting to favour them over popular or well known names.

Do you have any pet naming peeves?
I hate it when parents give their children a creative spelling of an otherwise easy to spell name (such as Madisyn for Madison) to be more “unique”. To me it doesn’t make the name more unique, it makes it look as if the parents can’t spell the original name and I think in the future, these kind of names will be time stamped (much like names such as Linda or Carol are today – we can all make a quick guess of their age just by looking at their name). I also am not a big fan of unisex names, with an exception (Adair) or boys names on girls and vice versa (though I secretly like Juno on a boy).

What are some of your favourite names?
As combos: Adelina Sophia, Magdalena Élisabeth, Isla Aveline, Leo Xavier, Alexander George and Thomas Archie.

What names do you dislike?
Clementine, Madison, Wren, Caden, Dashiell and Bennett. (There are some more but these are just some of them.)

What are your favourite names in the Top 100 of your country?
Isla and Leo.

What are your favourite names that have never charted in your country?
Athénaïs and Cornelius.

Do you have names picked out for your future children?
I’m far off from having children, so changes could be made, though right now, my choices are Adelina Sophia (nickname Lina) and Leo Xavier.

What advice would you give to someone who was choosing a name for their baby?
This isn’t from experience but I would say that you should try and go for a name both you and your partner love, and try not to be easily swayed by negative opinions if you truly love a name and have had it set in stone for ages. If your partner doesn’t love your top choices, try to come up with a list of similar names they may like or ask them what their favourites are, and see if you like any of them, or find a variant of the name you love but they don’t that you both like.

Leave a Reply

