Uniquely Australian names: Angus

Angus the Cat from Angus thongs and the perfect snogging
Angus the Cat from Angus thongs and the perfect snogging

Angus the name that makes me think of Angus Burgers from McDonalds or Hungry Jacks but it has consistently ranked in Australia making it a true classic whether it makes you think of greasy burgers or not. At 57 in the country and 42 in Victoria, it seems to be staying inside the top 100 for a while yet. Angus peaked at 137 in the Uk and is currently at 408 and hasn’t ranked since the 20’s in the US but it does rank in Scotland at 73 so is higher in Australia despite being a Scottish name. My mum informed me that my Grandma wanted to name her brother Stuart, Angus back in the late 60’s but my granddad rejected it which my mum is glad of. I guess Angus and Elspeth sound like they should be in the mountains of Scotland not in the streets near Fremantle. I think the more English sounding Stuart for him as he’s half English half Scottish.

3 thoughts on “Uniquely Australian names: Angus

Leave a Reply

