Uniquely Australian names: Lara

Lara Bingle
Lara Bingle

Lara is popular in Australia probably because of model Lara Bingle who also had a reality TV show Being Lara Bingle in 2012 which I have been informed is a bad show. Even if the show was bad it didn’t do anything to the name Lara which stayed at 72 in 2011 and 2012, in NSW in 2011 it was at 47. Currently in decline from what I can tell with the NSW data it peaked in 2009 at 32 so even if it is falling it isn’t falling too fast. To me though Lara sounds quite dated like Laura which peaked in the 1990’s at 12. Although not uniquely Australian it was in the top 100 in the UK in 2003, it peaked at 91 but has dropped to 115 so is more popular in Australia then anywhere else. One problem I can see with Lara in the US is it could be pronounced Lair-a like Tara is pronounced Tair-a but the proper pronunciation is La-rah (if thats wrong tell me I suck at writing pronunciations)

 

3 thoughts on “Uniquely Australian names: Lara

  1. Lara is up in some states and territories and down in others – I think overall it’s pretty stable.

    It seems bizarre that Lara Bingle would actually help this name, but apparently she is VERY popular with women in their late teens and early twenties, who see her as the ideal BFF. (Got this info from a marketing survey).

    I can’t say this is one of my favourites – maybe I’ve been a bit over-exposed.

Leave a Reply

